

# **IReL Advisory Committee**

## **Terms of Reference (ToR)**

### Purpose

Recognising IReL's role within the broader research and innovation system in Ireland, the purpose of the Advisory Committee (AC) is to provide multi-stakeholder expert guidance on IReL policy and strategy to the IReL Governing Board (GB). The AC's guidance and recommendations will aim to reflect international best practice and the wider interests of the consortium and the Irish research community.

#### Scope

- The AC will provide recommendations and guidance on the following:
  - The development of IReL as a national infrastructure for research and education
  - Principles and strategies for ensuring a sustainable, effective and equitable approach to the development and delivery of IReL services
  - High level principles in publisher negotiations
  - Facilitating discussion and feedback from relevant stakeholder groups on the current and future direction of IReL
  - Performance of IReL against principles and strategic goals
  - International benchmarking of IReL services
  - IReL's evolving role in supporting open access and open research
  - Models of participation in IReL/IReL membership structure.
- Members of the AC may also be called upon to provider leadership in high level publisher negotiations.
- The AC may obtain external professional advice as necessary. IReL will cover such costs, pending advance approval by the GC Chair.

#### Membership

The members of the AC will be drawn from across the research and higher education sector.

The members will be as follows:

- Chair: vice-president of research
- Vice-chair: library director
- $\circ$   $\;$  Six members from the Irish higher education and research sector  $\;$
- o International expert
- NORF Director (ex officio)

o IReL Director (ex officio)

## Recruitment and selection

- The GB will appoint members to the AC with the goal of achieving a balanced representation of relevant expertise and competencies. Members must be able to demonstrate expertise in one or more of the following areas:
  - Scholarly communications
  - Open research
  - Higher education policy
  - Research policy
  - Research infrastructure
  - Copyright and licencing
  - Collection management
- The AC Chair will be a VPR in an IReL member institution. The GB will recruit and appoint the Chair of the AC.
- The AC Vice-chair will be a Library Director in an IReL member institution. The GB will recruit and appoint the Vice-chair of the AC.
- Should a gap in expertise be identified by the Committee the AC Chair may propose up to two additional members.
- The membership of the AC should reflect Maynooth University's Equality and Diversity Policy
- The Chair may request member HEIs to nominate the replacement of non-active AC members.

## Term

• Members will serve a three year term and cannot serve more than two consecutive terms. Term renewal will be granted with a view to avoiding all members stepping down at once. A member's second and final term is limited to one year.

## Meetings

- The AC will meet at least twice a year, and no more than four times per year.
- Meetings may be in-person or virtual, at the discretion of the Chair. Remote attendance at in-person meetings may be possible if appropriate audio-visual technology is available.
- A quorum, consisting of half the number of members plus one, must be in attendance.
- Certain issues may not require an in-person or virtual meeting and so may be best addressed remotely via email (or similar). In such instances, recommendations must be approved by a quorum of half the number of members plus one.
- The IReL Executive will offer secretariat to the AC (hosting meetings, minute taking, record management etc.), although the AC Chair, at their discretion, may manage secretariat within the AC.
- Travels expenses will be reimbursed by IReL for the international expert member only.

#### Members

Brendan Jennings, Technological University Dublin (Chair) Monica Crump, University of Galway (Vice-chair) Peter Brown, Irish Reseach Council Arlene Healy, University College Dublin Asling Hayes, University of Limerick Gianpierro Cavalleri, Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland Geraldine Canny, South East Technological University Jean Ricken, Munster Technological University Susan Reilly, IReL (ex officio)

June 2024