AIP Publishing (American Institute of Physics)

Introduction: this agreement gives current staff and students at participating institutions:

  • Access to current content and backfiles from selected AIP Publishing hybrid journals.
  • The ability to make their articles accepted for publication in selected AIP Publishing journals open access without the author paying an article processing charge (APC). Further details below.

Agreement period: 1 Jan 2023 – 31 Dec 2025

Participating members:

  • Dublin City University  
  • Maynooth University   
  • Technological University Dublin 
  • Trinity College Dublin 
  • University College Cork  
  • University College Dublin 
  • University of Galway
  • University of Limerick 

Publisher page: 

Journals included for OA publishing: selected AIP hybrid journals (subscription journals that may include OA articles). See this list of the eligible journals in *all* IReL OA agreements, incl AIP Publishing:

Eligible authors: the corresponding author must be a current staff member or student of a participating institution at the time the article is accepted for publication. Authors must correctly identify affiliation with a participating member to AIP Publishing. Requests to publish OA under the agreement are subject to approval by participating institutions. Guide for Authors.

Eligible article types: primary research article, review article, perspective article, tutorial article. 

OA publishing license: eligible articles will be published under a CC-BY license. Authors retain copyright, while granting the publisher an exclusive license to publish. Further information here

OA quota per year: 

  • 2023 – 30 articles
  • 2024 – 30 articles
  • 2025 – 31 articles

Further information