Oxford University Press

Introduction: this agreement gives current staff and students at participating institutions:

  • Access to:
    • current content from all of OUP’s subscription journals.
    • OUP reference resources:
      • Oxford Art Online: Grove Art
      • Oxford Dictionaries Online (ODO) (Technological University Dublin only)
      • Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (ODNB)
      • Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
      • Oxford Music Online
      • Oxford Reference Online (ORO) Premium
  • The ability to make their articles accepted for publication in eligible OUP journals open access, without the author paying an article processing charge (APC). Further details below.

Agreement period: 1 Jan 2021 – 31 Dec 2023

Participating members

  • Dublin City University  
  • Maynooth University  
  • National University Ireland, Galway 
  • Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland
  • Teagasc
  • Technological University Dublin 
  • Trinity College Dublin 
  • University College Cork  
  • University College Dublin 
  • University of Limerick 

Publisher pages:

Eligible journals:

  • all 84 OUP published open access journals and over 360 hybrid journals (subscription journals which include open access content).  20 titles are subscription-only so do not currently offer open access. Title lists (correct as of April 2021)
  • see list of all the eligible journals in all IReL TAs, including OUP: http://bit.ly/irelOAjournals.

Eligible authors: at the time of an article is accepted for publication, the corresponding author must be a current staff member or student with a participating institution. 

Eligible article types: research articles and reviews only. Excluded: book reviews, letters to editor etc.

OA quota per year:

  • 2021:
    • 111 articles in hybrid journals. As of 6 October 2021, we project that this limited allocation will be fully used by late October 2021. 
    • 2 in fully-OA journals. As of June 2021, this allocation is fully spent. 
  • 2022:
    • 117 articles in hybrid journals
    • 2 in fully-OA journals
  • 2022:
    • 122 articles in hybrid journals
    • 3 in fully-OA journals

OA publishing license: Journals offer one or more of the following, depending on the journal: CC BY 4.0, CC BY-NC 4.0, and CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. 

Further information: