1 Jan 2021 – 31 Dec 2023

  • The IReL-BMJ agreement allows eligible corresponding authors in participating institutions to publish original research open access upon publication at no extra cost.

Participating members

  • Dublin City University  
  • Maynooth University  
  • National University Ireland, Galway 
  • Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland
  • Technological University Dublin 
  • Trinity College Dublin 
  • University College Cork  
  • University College Dublin 
  • University of Limerick 

Publishers page

Open access agreements for Ireland – information for authors

OA quota per year

  • 2021   –   24 articles
  • 2022   –   24 articles
  • 2023   –   25 articles

Journals eligible for OA

Eligible authors

  • The corresponding author must be a current staff member or student of a participating institution at the time the article is accepted for publication. The corresponding author must ensure their correct affiliation details are known to the publisher at this time. 
  • Requests to publish OA under the agreement are subject to approval by participating members.
  • For articles accepted from 04 May 2021: eligible corresponding authors will be invited to make their articles open access on acceptance.

OA publishing license:

Eligible articles will be published under a CC BY 4.0 or CC BY-NC 4.0. Some journals require a CC-BY-NC license (unless a CC-BY license is mandated by funders). Journals requiring a CC-BY-BY license can be found here.

Where research on which an Open Access Article is based is funded by a funder that mandates the use of CC-BY licence, or BMJ has expressly agreed that the CC-BY licence shall apply, the that Eligible Author’s published manuscript may be re-used under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International Licence (CC BY 4.0) or any subsequent versions of this licence as determined by BMJ.

Further information here.

Further information